One year later

Oh, hello. It’s been a year since I was last here updating you. Honestly, life has really gotten in my way – the idea to document this house building had totally good intentions, but the actual building of the house was taking up so much time that there wasn’t time to blog about it!

We also ran into some snags soon after we dug the well last year and I got discouraged and unmotivated to write about the house. After drilling the well and getting our plans drawn, we started the mortgage process. We got an amazing (though adjustable) mortgage rate and were totally ready to close – yeah! And then our bank lawyer let us know that we couldn’t close on the property until they could get their hands on a death certificate for someone who had owned the land prior to my uncle. Then we found out that said certificate was in a closed record state and it ended up taking months to get it. Like, we met with our attorney one 6/14 and closed on the land on 11/9.

NOVEMBER

In the meantime, we discovered that we were simultaneously building our family – I found out that I was expecting our first in October. Yippee!

So here we are, early May 2013. I’m due in just under 6 weeks and we’re a few weeks from being in our brand spankin’ new house. I’m going to try to document as much as possible in a few posts and then take it from here. I hope you’ll join me on this journey!

Leave a Reply

